Awards Archives

January 12, 2012

Young Lawyers of the Year:

Kelly Latimer and Christina Micken

True heroism is remarkably sober, very undramatic. It is not the urge to surpass all others at whatever cost, but the urge to serve others at whatever cost.
– Arthur Ashe

Continue reading "Young Lawyers of the Year:" »

November 13, 2000

2001 Mid-Year Convention Awards

The Board of Bar Commissioners is seeking applications for two Bar awards to be given at the 2001 Mid-Year Convention. These awards honor publicly those whose professionalism, public service, and personal dedication have significantly enhanced the administration of justice, the delivery of legal services, and the improvement of the profession. Award applications must be submitted in writing to Maud Thurman, Executive Secretary, 645 South 200 East, Suite 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84111, no later than Tuesday, January 16, 2000.

1.Dorathy Merrill Brothers Award- For the Advancement of Women in the Legal Profession.

2. Raymond S. Uno Award- For the Advancement of Minorities in the Legal Profession.

Utah Bar Foundation Selects Ethics Award Scholarship Recipient

The Utah Bar Foundation is pleased to announce the 1999-2000 Ethics Award Scholarship has been given to University of Utah Law Student Cheryl Mori-Atkinson. Ms. Mori-Atkinson, who was a graduate in the class of 2000, received an exemplary grade in the Legal Professions course and has a strong record of commitment to public service. She is an able student who is widely respected by faculty, administration and her fellow students. Since graduating in June, Ms. Mori-Atkinson has taken the bar exam and will start as a judicial clerk with Justice Durham in November. Ms. Mori-Atkinson is currently employed at the firm of Giauque, Crockett, Bendinger & Peterson.

Continue reading "Utah Bar Foundation Selects Ethics Award Scholarship Recipient" »

August 2, 2000

2000 IOLTA Grant Awards

The Utah Bar Foundation has awarded the 2000 IOLTA Grants. Recipients for this year are as follows:

Continue reading "2000 IOLTA Grant Awards" »

August 1, 2000

Utah Trial Lawyer of the Year

The Utah Trial Lawyer of the Year Award was presented posthumously at the Utah State Bar Annual Meeting to Salt Lake lawyer H. James Clegg. The award is presented every year by the Utah Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates, in conjunction with the Utah State Bar Annual Meeting, which was held in San Diego.

Continue reading "Utah Trial Lawyer of the Year" »

About Awards

This page contains an archive of all entries posted to Utah Bar Journal in the Awards category. They are listed from oldest to newest.

Article is the previous category.

Bar Discipline is the next category.

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.

The Utah State Bar presents this web site as a service to our members and to the public. Information presented in this site is NOT legal advice. Please review the Terms of Use for more policy, disclaimer & liability information - ©Utah State Bar email: